Davy Rothbart


Add to Cart Out of Stock

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.

But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

“I believe in Davy. He's a force to be reckoned with.” - Ira Glass

“Davy Rothbart has the humor and purity of heart you want and need in an observer of contemporary American life. Without guile and with a belief in small towns, underdogs, love at first sight, the pull of the road, and the soulfulness of strangers, Rothbart is a kind of new-styled Bill Moyers—genuine, wide-eyed, and hopeful.” - Dave Eggers

“Davy’s my kind of storyteller—honest, hilarious, deeply feeling, and slightly cracked. This is the fresh voice we’ve been looking for.” - Jim Carroll, The Basketball Diaries

Davy Rothbart is the author of the national bestseller Found, and creator of the magazine of the same name. A contributor to public radio's This American Life, he is also the author of the story collection The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Product specs

  • Author: Davy Rothbart
  • Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux
  • Price: $25.00
  • Page count: 320 pages
  • Trim size: 8.5 x 5.75
  • Weight: 0.97 lbs
  • ISBN-13: 9780374280840
  • Binding: Hardcover